That one time I saw Young Thug live

Yes, you are probably aware that I’m a fan of Young Thug. The first time I started listening to Thugger (don’t get confused with Slim Thug), it was around the release of Gucci Mane‘s ‘Trap House 3‘ album. Coincidentally, Thug appeared on two of the tracks.

Since then, I’ve had to keep an eye on him. Not only was he the most intriguing rapper to come out at the time with all the piercings, grills, radical style of raps and singing and opinions of gender.

Anyway, going all the way back to the summer of 2015, I went to Reading Festival where I was blessed to see Kendrick Lamar, Run the Jewels, Vince Staples, FLATBUSH ZOMBiES, Limp Bizkit…and Young Thug. ytr15

He opened up his set with the ‘1017 Thug‘ opening track “2 Cups Stuffed”. He was dripping with jewels, wearing a Billionaire Boys Club t-shirt and a illuminative orange jacket.

How I saw Thug on videos and heard him through my headphones was exactly how I pictured how he’d be live. He was dull, hardly interested at times in rapping along to his songs, yet energetic. He went through a run of his more known hits, “About the Money“, “Lifestyle“, “Check” was especially LiT and “With That“. However, it was when he performed songs like “730” and “Best Friend” that he showed off his love performance skills and how hype he can get a crowd.

While his discography since then has wildly improved and progressed, I feel fortunate I’ve been able to stand at the front of a bannister and watch one of todays and Hip-Hops most exciting artists perform.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

